To issue a Florida Certificate of Title for a new or used motor vehicle, mobile home, or vessel purchased in or outside of Florida, the owner of the vehicle, vessel or mobile home or their appointed Power of Attorney (POA) Form 82053*, must bring the following documents into the Tax Collector's Office:
- Proof of Identification:
- A Florida driver license or identification card
- An out of state driver license or identification card with photo
- A US passport
- A Canadian driver license, identification card or passport
- A driver license or identification card from any U.S. Territory (American Samoa, Guam, Marianas, Puerto Rico and US Virgin Islands)
- An out of country passport
- Proof of ownership:
- MCO (Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin) – initial ownership documentation on a new motor vehicle, mobile home or vessel
- Out of state title on a used motor vehicle, mobile home or vessel. If the motor vehicle, mobile home or vessel was not required to be titled, then proof of ownership is a dealer’s bill of sale or the original registration from that state and a bill of sale from the seller to the purchaser.
- Form 82042*, Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) and Odometer Verification, accurately completed by the purchaser, with the motor vehicle identification number verified by one of the following:
- Law enforcement office from any state
- Licensed Florida or out of state motor vehicle dealer. (If the verification is done by an out of state dealer, the verification must be submitted on dealer’s letterhead stationery.)
- Florida DMS Compliance Examiner, DMS or tax collector employees. (The Tax Collector’s office can only complete the verification if weather conditions permit.)
- Form 82040, Application for Certificate of Title with/without Registration accurately completed. (A Form 82041 may be signed in lieu of the 82040 if all persons are present for the transfer). If a lien is to be recorded, the lien information must be provided in the appropriate space of the Form 82040. This includes the lienholder’s name, address, and federal employer’s identification FEID) number. When an individual is the lien holder, their name, address and driver license number is required. Should the individual lienholder be from another state, a copy of their identification is needed.
- A Bill of Sale showing the purchase price, trade in allowance and sales tax paid is needed. Payment of sales tax is due at the time of application unless there is a reason for sales tax exemption. Leon County collects 6% sales tax on the total price and an additional 1.5% on the first $5,000.
- Title Fees:
- Original New Vehicle Title Fee - $77.75
- Original Used Out of State Vehicle Title Fee - $85.75
- Original New Vessel title Fee - $5.75
- Original Used Out of State Vessel - $9.75
- Original new, used or transferred Off Highway Vehicle Title fee - $38.25
- Lien Fee for a Vehicle - $2.00 (per lien if applicable)
- Lien Fee for a Vessel - $1.00
- Penalty Fee on vehicles - $20.00 - is assessed on a title not transferred within 30 days of the date of purchase.
- Penalty Fee - $10.00 - is assessed on an off highway vehicle MCO not transferred within 30 days of the date of purchase and vessel title not transferred in 30 days..
- Fast Title Fee on vehicles - $10.00 (title issued at time of application; fee is in addition to the title fee, and some restrictions apply)
- Fast Title Fee for a Vessel - $5.00
- Fast Title Fee for Off Highway Vehicle - $7.00
Shipping and Handling Fee - $2.50 - for each paper title printed and mailed.
Note: By clicking the Pay Registration Fee button below, you will be redirected to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles website to complete your transaction.
* You will be redirected to outside agency website.